Bye Bye, England

September 15, 2017 miscellaneous, psa 7

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

I’m back in Germany! I can’t believe my year in England is already over. It went by so fast it literally feels like it was a dream. But I’ve experienced a lot, and I’m sure I’m a different person than I was a year ago. Now I’m in a weird transitionary period I’m not quite sure what to do with. But so far I haven’t felt bored, both for good and bad reasons. It’s great to spend some time with my family and friends who I haven’t seen in a while. I was home a few times the last year, but I also missed things, and it’s different to be back for good now, even though I still can’t quite believe it.

In less important news, my email subscriptions stopped working, and I lost my subscribers when I fixed it in case you didn’t see my psa last time, so if you were subscribed, you’ll have to resubsribe, sorry for the inconvenience. <3 (Or, you know, just subsribe anyway, since emails only go out for post notifications I can definitely promise there won’t be too many haha)
Read more »

Divider

Book Titles That Describe My Life

August 18, 2017 books, fun, miscellaneous 4

A month without uploading
she comes back with a tag
that no one even tagged her in
she’s not a challenge to drag

Sorry if you’re not familiar with this masterpiece of music, but it was the first thing that came to my mind when I started writing this post. I saw this tag on Shannon’s blog, and decided to steal it, because I’m in the last stages of writing my dissertation and it’s either a tag or nothing. Hope you enjoy!

Title That’s the Story of Your Life

Nervous Conditions


I literally picked this book up because of the title, so I feel like that’s pretty accurate.

Read more »

Divider

A Whole Lot of Randomness

July 29, 2017 miscellaneous 24

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

***IMPORTANT PSA*** My e-mail subscriptions haven’t been working for a while – I fixed the problem, but I lost all of my old subscribers, so if you were subscribed to get post notifications (or you want to subscribe now – hi!), you’ll have to sign up again. Sorry for the inconvenience and thanks!

What’s New?

I just realised the last Cake Conversations I wrote was all the way back in January, so… HELLO BLOGGLINGS I’M STILL ALIVE. I don’t think I’ll remember everything that went on since then, so let me just tell y’all where I’m at right now. I’m finishing up my postgrad in England, and then I’m moving back to Germany at the end of August. When I say “move back” I mean my family is saving me from being homeless, because I don’t have a place there right now. I’m currently looking for a job (wish me luck! or better, employ me), so I have yet to sort out the living situation. EXCITING TIMES.

Right now, I’m mostly at home writing my dissertation, but I also have some friends visiting before I leave, so I hope I’ll get to enjoy England a little more before I leave. It’s insane how fast the year went, but there’s some time left!

In other exciting news, I’m joining Shattering Stigmas as a host this year! Shattering Stigmas is a mental health event focused on mental health in literature, but there are also discussions about more general aspects of mental health. If you would like to write a guest post for Reviews and Cake, you can find all the information in my call for guest posts. I’d love to feature you!
Read more »

Divider

Shattering Stigmas: Call for Guest Posts

July 28, 2017 psa 2

Shattering Stigmas graphic

I’m very happy to announce that I’m participating in Shattering Stigmas as a host this year! Shattering Stigmas is a mental health awareness event focused on mental health generally and mental health in literature in particular.

Shattering Stigmas was created by the lovely Shannon. This is the third edition, and it’s even bigger than the last few years. You’ll find posts on It Starts at Midnight, Of Wonderland, The Fox’s Hideaway, Stay on the Page and, last but not least, Flipping Through Pages. I know all of us have planned some exciting posts, and we can’t wait to share them with you!

If you would like to join in as a guest poster, I would love to have you on my blog! All the info is below. I guest posted about Humor and Mental Health on Shannon’s blog last year, and it was a great way to have discussions and meet new people.

In Short:

What: Shattering Stigmas!
When: 2nd-15th October 2017
Deadline for Posts: 25th September 2017
Who Can Participate: Anyone! Blogger, Author, Reader – as long as you want to write a post (create a video, etc.), you’re welcome

Posts can be about anything related to mental health – personal experiences, book/movie reviews, discussions, interviews, you name it! If you need some inspiration, you can find a lot of previous posts right here and also here.

If you would like to write a guest post for Reviews and Cake, just comment below this post, send me a DM on Twitter, or let me know via email at reviewsandcake@gmail.com – I would love to feature your post on the blog! Videos and other formats are also very welcome.

Comment below if you’d like to write a guest post! Or, you know, if you just want to wish me a good day or something, that’s also fine.

Divider

When Dimple Met Rishi

July 24, 2017 books, reviews 3


Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

I kept hearing about this book, so now that it’s finally out I had to buy it. I wasn’t disappointed! When Dimple met Rishi is perfect when you’re in the mood for a cute YA romance. It has likeable but realistic(ish) characters, and a romance you’ll root for.
Read more »

Divider

Scoring Wilder – Soccer and Romance

July 17, 2017 books, reviews 0


What started out as a joke— seduce Coach Wilder—soon became a goal she had to score.

With Olympic tryouts on the horizon, the last thing nineteen-year-old Kinsley Bryant needs to add to her plate is Liam Wilder. He’s a professional soccer player, America’s favorite bad-boy, and has all the qualities of a skilled panty-dropper.

• A face that makes girls weep – check.
• Abs that can shred Parmesan cheese (the expensive kind) – check.
• Enough confidence to shift the earth’s gravitational pull – double check.

Not to mention Liam is strictly off limits . Forbidden. Her coaches have made that perfectly clear. (i.e. “Score with Coach Wilder anywhere other than the field and you’ll be cut from the team faster than you can count his tattoos.”) But that just makes him all the more enticing…Besides, Kinsley’s already counted the visible ones, and she is not one to leave a project unfinished.

Kinsley tries to play the game her way as they navigate through forbidden territory, but Liam is determined to teach her a whole new definition for the term “team bonding.”

As you can see by the naked guy on the cover above, I have once again ventured into the dark abyss of New Adult after devouring Elle Kennedy’s books last year. This time it snuck up on me. I recently read Catching Jordan and Coming Up for Air, both of which are excellently cute books about sports, friendship and romance. So naturally after finishing them, I was on the lookout for more books featuring female athletes (I’ve discovered I like reading about sports, I just don’t want to do them myself). I found Scoring Wilder on a goodreads list and it had a high rating, so I figured I’ll keep an open mind and try it. Unfortunately, this book lacked the hilarity of the Off-Campus series, and didn’t make up for it in other areas.
Read more »

Divider

Wanderlost – A Trip Around Europe

July 13, 2017 books, reviews 10

wanderlost cover

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.
– from goodreads

I’ve been wanting to read this book for ages. A trip around Europe? High ratings by my bookish friends? Yes, please. This had all the signs of a great summer book, so I decided to finally give it a try. I wasn’t exactly disappointed, but I wasn’t as in love with it as I thought I would be either.
Read more »

Divider

Experiences In England

July 10, 2017 miscellaneous, travel 12

I may have mentioned this before, but I used to write about travelling. Like most people, I abandoned my travel blog once I got back home, but I still love travelling, so I figured I would just turn it into a category on my blog. So from now on, every once in a while, I’ll write about the places I’ve been and the things I experienced there.



As many of you know, I moved to England for my postgrad degree last September. I’ve now lived here for ten months, so I decided it was about time to write a post about all the little things I noticed since moving here. I always love reading about how someone experiences a different country, and all the small things that give a place its character, so I hope you’ll feel the same!

Speaking English and Dialects

I would consider myself a fairly competent English speaker. Out of all the things I worried about when I moved to England, the language was probably the least of my concerns. You can imagine my surprise when I arrived and realised I couldn’t even understand everything the taxi driver said, or comprehend when a cashier asked me if I needed a bag at the supermarket. Oh, the lectures at university and communicating with my fellow international students were no issues – it was the locals I had trouble understanding. After talking to a guy from the U.S. who said he showed the people at Subway a picture of a tomato to illustrate what he wanted to order, I felt slightly less bad about my struggle to understand the Geordie accent!
Read more »

Divider

Small Admissions

July 6, 2017 books, reviews 2

book cover small admissions

One admission can change your life…forever.

When ambitious grad student Kate Pearson’s handsome French “almost fiancé” ditches her, she definitely does not roll with the punches, despite the best efforts of family and friends. It seems that nothing will get Kate out of pajamas and back into the world.

Miraculously, one cringe-worthy job interview leads to a position in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. Kate’s instantly thrown into a highly competitive and occasionally absurd culture, where she interviews all types of children: suitable, wildly unsuitable, charming, loathsome, ingratiating, or spoiled beyond all measure. And then there are the Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

As Kate begins to learn there’s no room for self-pity or nonsense during the height of admissions season or life itself, her sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, dropping bombshells, and arguing with each other about how to keep Kate on her feet. Meanwhile, Kate seems to be doing very nicely, thank you, and is even beginning to find out that her broken heart is very much on the mend. Welcome to the world of Small Admissions.

-from goodreads

I got an ARC of this book so long ago that I don’t really want to look up how long it’s been exactly. It sounded like something light and fun, but it wasn’t until I was in Spain recently that I finally got around to reading it. It wasn’t quite what I expected, but not necessarily in a bad way.
Read more »

Divider

Books About Twenty-Somethings

July 3, 2017 books, discussion 8

Talk To Me

is a no-nonsense discussion feature on this blog. No-nonsense means I’m too lazy to make it look pretty. It’s exactly what the title suggests: I’m going to pose a question or tell you my own opinion about something, and I want to know what you think about it! Obviously feel free to write up your own post on the topic and link it in the comments.


Topic

We all know about the omnipresence of Young Adult books. Books about characters in their teens hold a certain appeal, perhaps because we learn a lot about who we are and who we want to be at that stage in life. But where are the books about twenty-somethings? I’m in my early twenties, and I’ve been desperately looking for good books featuring characters my age. Obviously they exist, but I feel like they are few and far between. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m finding it much more difficult to find books about people in their twenties than YA or adult books. I was shortly excited when New Adult emerged as a category, but then I realised New Adult mostly seems to be erotica (nothing wrong with that obviously, but not quite what I had in mind). So where are all the books about people my age? Some of the ‘older’ YA books, like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, focus on people going off to university, but they are few and far between.
Read more »

Divider

The Hottest Blog Post You’ll Ever Read

May 12, 2017 fun, miscellaneous 17

As I was contemplating what kind of blog post to write, I found myself drafting and redrafting several ideas. I haven’t blogged in a while, so obviously the pressure is on. Not someone too proud to accept help, I Googled “blog post ideas” and stumbled upon a lot of sites telling you how to write posts that will instantly turn your blog viral. This post promising 101 blog post ideas that will make your blog “HOT” specifically inspired me. I mean how could I turn that down?

But why stop at only one of these ideas? If my blog will be “HOT” if I post about these subjects, won’t it be literally on fire if I just combine them all into one post, I logically questioned. Since writing about all 101 of them in one post would contradict the necessity to cater to readers’ short attention spans online, I decided to take the first 5 for now. So without further ado: the HOTTEST post around!

#1 Run a contest

Oh fun, I’ve always wanted to run a contest! I considered giving away a book or something, but I mean I’m sure you wouldn’t want that. Everyone’s doing that, you must be so bored of it. Hmmm how about this: If you’re amongst the first three people to comment, I will EXCLUSIVELY come up with a motivational saying for you. That’s right, a BRAND NEW motivational quote tailored specially to YOUR needs! I mean, who could resist?

#2 Review books/products/films

Well, that doesn’t seem very useful, but they do say try everything at least once… Alright, let’s go with this hallway I’m sitting in. I have to say it’s one of the better hallways I’ve seen. There are two reasonably comfortable sofas for people to sit on while they wait for their seminars to start. There are even a few places to charge your electronic device of choice. However, some people are left standing, so you have to be there quite early to enjoy the benefits of this particular hallway.

In terms of architectural qualities, I’m a little torn. The hallway is situated in a historically relevant building used by a university, which is quite nice. However, a part of the hardwood floor has been replaced with an unattractive gray substance, the likes of which you could probably find in any institution across the country. Additionally it is interesting to note that this hallway fulfills some of the qualities of a waiting room or perhaps a small lounge.

Overall, I would give this hallway 3/5 stars. I enjoyed the open space and the fact that I was able to watch an episode of a good TV show while charging my netbook and waiting for my seminar, but I have also left the hallway to wait somewhere else in previous weeks when I arrived later and there was no more room to sit down. With some improvements, this could be a great hallway.

#3 Make comprehensive guide/tutorial

The writer of the blog post I am basing this on said to focus on something you are good at for this point. After careful consideration, I have identified one of my key strengths: procrastination. Below is a short but comprehensive guide on how to best achieve the same level of pofessionality in this particular area that I am already capable of. Trust me, if I can do it, you can do it.

1. Identify the thing you are procrastinating. You can easily do this by doing something that seems fun to you. After a few moments, you will start to feel guilty. Use this guilt. Consider which aspect(s) of your life you are neglecting by doing the thing that seems fun to you. This is the thing you’re aiming to procrastinate.

2. Make a to do list. To do lists are great for procrastination purposes, because you feel like you are being productive even though you are most likely going to ignore your new list entirely.

3. Consider starting to work on your project. Start up your computer and open up your internet browser of choice to look up something vital. Now be careful – don’t actually look up whatever it was you came for. Instead tour all your favorite social media sites and watch some youtube videos.

4. Complain. Complain to your friends, complain to your family In fact, while you’re at it contact some old acquaintances and complain to them as well. Tell all of them how busy you are with your project and that you don’t possibly have time for anything else. Then get back to watching youtube videos.

5. Tell yourself you will definitely start tomorrow.

6. Go to bed and stress about how little time you have left to accomplish your goals and finish your assignments.

7. Repeat endlessly.

I hope that was helpful! :)

#4 Interview someone

Here, the article advises to get an interview with someone who rarely speaks in public. I thought about people who are usually hard to get a hold of and finally had the perfect idea – a telephone company employee! I called the o2 customer service, but I was on hold for so long that I finally had to go to the bathroom. When I got back someone had hung up on me. I tried again, but after an hour or so I had to run out.

#5 Post a cool infographic

An infographic is used to visualize complex relationships. So I thought what’s more complex than global warming? I hope this sheds some light on the issue; it certainly took me long enough to make.

Alright, that’s it! The first five out of a list of 101 ways to make my blog relevant. I hope you were able to handle the HOTNESS (unlike the earth haha – no? too soon? not soon enough?). Here’s some ice cubes. Let me know if you liked it, and I might make a series out of it.

Divider

International Women’s Day: My Favorite Books by Female Authors

March 8, 2017 books, recs 14

Happy Women’s Day! In celebration of the many women shaping literature as we know and love it, I thought I’d celebrate some of my favorite female authors with this list today. Obviously, it’s hard to narrow it down, because so many of my favorite authors are women, but I can recommend all of these books from the bottom of my heart. I will be focusing on books that I’m not currently seeing everywhere, which is why you won’t find series like Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab or The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer on this list, but know that I love those just as much. Hope you find something you like!

The Binti series by Nnedi Okorafor



Nnedi Okorafor is one of the most imaginative authors I’ve read. I originally found this, because it was recommended by John Green in a video. I think he pitched it as something like “girl who travels through space to attend university” (paraphrased), which sounded pretty awesome to me. Now I think his description is underselling the work, but I also find it hard to come up with a good one myself, because you really just have to read this one for yourself. As far as I can tell, it’s a trilogy of novellas (according to goodreads, the last one is set to be released this September), so it’s not a great time commitment, but there’s enough worldbuilding for longer books. I feel like this book is more relevant to my Cross-Cultural Communications degree than most of the academic texts I read (don’t tell my lecturers). I’ve seen a few authors mention these novellas, but I haven’t seen them on many book blogs, so get reading, people!
Read more »

Divider

Essay Writing: Online Resources for University Research

March 7, 2017 miscellaneous, recs, reviews 2

This post is probably completely irrelevant to anyone who reads my blog on any sort of regular basis, but maybe someone will be redirected here by a random Google search. As you may know if you’ve been reading my blog for a while (which you probably haven’t for the aforementioned reason), I’m a student. Having to Write an Essay is a constant state of anxiety for me. I’m not saying my essays are perfect (I feel like they would be much more entertaining if I could use my authentic writing style, but apparently informal writing and mediocre jokes are frowned upon in the academic world), but I did manage to get my B.A. last summer, so I must be doing something right. Obviously this qualifies me to share my wise knowledge with you.

Disclaimer: I am not actually any sort of expert or authority on this, so if you mess up your essay don’t point to me.


Read more »

Divider

Book Review: Passenger

February 17, 2017 books, reviews 4

passenger cover alexandra bracken review on reviews and cake blog

I ordered this book way back when it first came out – in hardcover no less – because I liked The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken. I only just got around to reading it, and I’m not quite as enthusiastic about this series debut as I was about her other work.
Read more »

Divider

Conventions and an Avalanche of Books

January 14, 2017 books, miscellaneous, psa 18

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

Aloha blogglings,

I’m in a summery mood, because I can actually see the sun today. From inside my room, I mean, let’s not get crazy. I went to visit my family over Christmas and New Year, but now I’m back in England. So far I’ve spent all of my time holed up in my room writing essays, but I can see the light on the horizon. Sort of. In a few weeks. In more exciting news, I have decided that I’ll go to YALC (Young Adult Literature Convention) in London this year! It’s at the end of July, and I don’t know anyone, so if you’re a fellow blogger who’s thinking about going, and you’d like to meet up, let me know! I’ve never been before, so if you’re an experienced YALCer, any information is welcome. :D I’m always jealous about all the US folks, who get to meet up at conventions, so I figured I have to make use of my time in an English-speaking country!



The answer is I shouldn’t. Trust me. I keep struggling with random words that are different in British English and American English. Like the time I ordered a flapjack expecting a pancake and got a muesli bar thing instead. Or last week, when I asked someone where I could find the zucchini, and he looked at me all confused and asked whether I meant aubergine, which I didn’t because I call aubergines aubergines (turns out zucchini=American English and courgette=British English, but aubergine=British English and eggplant=American English). It’s a constant surprise, living here. :D
Read more »

Divider

Review: Illuminae

January 5, 2017 books, reviews 12

Illuminae book cover

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

– from goodreads

I had high expectations in this book, and they were not disappointed. I’m so late to the party that the sequel is already out (which is a plus, because this way I don’t have to wait to read it), but that only means that I’ve read about how great and unique this book is ever since it’s been published. I’m often wary of books that are hyped this much, but I had a good feeling with this one. YA scifi? Megalomaniac AIs? Invasions? What could go wrong.
Read more »

Divider

2016 in Books I Read

December 30, 2016 books, miscellaneous 15

One more day of 2016! I usually do the End of the Year book survey everyone does, but I need something short and sweet this year, so I’m making up my own questions that totally aren’t fitted to the books I read this year at all. Feel free to steal and link back if you haven’t done yours. My goodreads challenge says I finished 58 books this year, which I’m quite happy with. Some of those I skimmed and DNF’d and there were a lot of audiobooks, but with everything else going on this year, I think that’s a good number. Let’s take a look at the selection!

Favorite Books I read in 2016

a gathering of shadows book cover on reviews and cake

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
Sweetgirl by Travis Mulhauser
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

I loved all of these books for various reasons, and I’m really excited to read the next book in the Shades of Magic series!
Read more »

Divider

A 2016 Review (Not the Dumpster Fire-y Parts) & Goals for 2017

December 25, 2016 miscellaneous, psa 8

Hello-ho-ho-ho and Merry Christmas, blogglings!

If you come back after weeks of absence, come back with a bad pun, I say. I haven’t been around much due to both my laptop and my netbook breaking and being swamped with essays I should be writing (but why am I even mentioning that? Procrastinating an essay is a permanent state of being for me at this point). Nevertheless, now that my laptop is repaired, and I can use it again (fingers crossed it’ll stay that way), I’m continuing the great tradition of setting goals for the new year. I did this last year as well (and the year before that), so let’s see how I did first. I also noticed some of you wrote down your goals in the comments of last year’s post, so if that’s you feel free to go ahead and see how you did along with me. :D

My goals for 2016 were

I want to get good grades and finish my Bachelor’s

Hey, I actually did that! What a good start. I got my BA this summer, and I was pretty satisfied with the grade as well, so I’ll count this one as a win.

…so I can apply to university in Glasgow (I might not get in and if I do it’s going to be one hell of an organisational and financial challenge to move to Scotland for a year, but I think this is an excellent idea, so wish me luck!)

HA! Another one I accomplished. I have a good feeling for this year. So I’m not studying in Glasgow, but that was kind of random, because someone told me there are no student fees in Scotland (or at least that they’ll be payed back by the government), but it turned out that that’s not true for postgraduate degrees, so instead I applied to universities all over the UK and ended up in Newcastle, where I’m currently living and studying. (And you were right, Vlora of the past, it was one hell of an organisational and financial challenge, but it was worth it so far!)
Read more »

Divider

#writingstruggles

November 8, 2016 writing 4

Welcome to November! Wow, that went fast, didn’t it? Then again a lot of people seem to be comparing 2016 to a dumpster fire, so maybe you’re looking forward to next year already. Either way, November means it’s time for my favorite holiday of the year: National Novel Writing Month! If you’re not familiar with the concept, NaNoWriMo is a challenge to write 50.000 words in one month. You don’t really win anything at the end, other than bragging rights, so all it proves is that writers are masochists. Seriously though, it’s great for inspiration and motivation.

In honor of NaNoWriMo, I figured what would be a better way to cheerlead than talking about all the various struggles writers and by writers I mean mostly me face. I already wrote a sarcastic post on writing struggles, so I decided it was time for a real one. I am nothing if not an optimist.


Read more »

Divider

The Glittering Court

October 30, 2016 books, reviews 4

the glittering court by richelle mead cover

Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

– from goodreads (shortened)

This book’s been on my radar for a while, because I’ve read almost all of Richelle Mead’s books, but I only now got around to reading it. I was a little put off at first, because something about the writing style seemed fairly different to other Richelle Mead books (more… simplistic maybe?), but part of it may have been that I’m more used to third person than first. I gave it a chance though, and I ended up really enjoying the book!
Read more »

Divider