How Do You Write Like You’re Running Out of Time?

May 19, 2016 miscellaneous 12

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

It’s easy, Burr. You just actually run out of time. I MEAN HELLO, PEOPLE OF THE INTERNET. It’s time for the monthly update I never fail to deliver, because I’m reliable like that. As you may be able to guess by my title and introductory words, I’ve been listening to the Hamilton soundtrack. And by ‘listening to’ I mean ‘it has taken over my life and my roommate has accused me of being obsessed even though she’s not even here to hear me sing along to it all day long, but my other roommate is and I’m sure he appreciates it’. PLEASE tell me someone else thinks it’s as genius as I do, because I HAVE OPINIONS.

In a stunning turn of events I find myself in an airport, I’m busy writing something for university. Only this time it’s my Bachelor thesis, so I actually have to be, like, serious about it.



So far I’ve procrastinated for a few days and looked for some literature to use. Last time I had to write something long, I spent a month watching Great British Bake Off, baking Christmas cookies and sewing a mishappen sleeve for my Kindle. I think this is the perfect time to take up some new hobbies.
Read more »

Divider

The Wolf of Wall Street

May 2, 2016 movies, reviews 1

movie mondays graphic

Movie Mondays is a series of reviews, discussions, and general movie talk. Get yourself some popcorn (or M&Ms if you’re like me), lean back in your seat, and enjoy the show.


Welcome to the first edition of Movie Mondays! I’ve been wanting to start this feature for about a year. I’m not sure what stopped me, but it might have been my laziness. See, it’s a point of pride for me to make a graphic when I introduce a new feature, even if it is a shitty one (and let’s face it, it usually is). I’m sure someone else is doing Movie Mondays, because the alliteration is just too good to pass up, but these are Movie Mondays on Reviews and Cake and what else are you going to do on a Monday?



I’ve been meaning to watch The Wolf of Wall Street for ages, but I missed it when it was in theaters and then it just sort of never happened. I finally sat down and watched it years later, and I have to say I’m a little disappointed. I think my biggest problem is that the movie is exactly what I expected, but not in a good way. There was nothing really new or innovative about it. Of course not every movie needs to be new or innovative, but if it isn’t, it needs to shine in other categories. But it doesn’t. Don’t get me wrong; the cinematography is very polished, the acting oscillates between adequate and great, and the story is okay. It looks as it should, but nothing surprised or moved me in any way. If your main character isn’t likeable, your story needs to be interesting, especially for a three hour movie.



I’m not going to give you a summary of the plot, because you’ve probably already heard about it and, really, there isn’t that much to talk about. Poor guy gets rich, is a complete douchebag, gets into legal troubles, and continues to be a douchebag. There’s a lot of nudity, sex and drug use in the movie. The point of this is to show the excess the characters live in, but… I got the point after the first few times. There’s one scene, in which Jordan Belfort – our main character – takes stronger drugs than even he is used to and we see the whole thing in vivid detail. This was the only scene that at least managed to kind of move me insofar that I felt pity for the character and admiration for the acting. There are no interesting female characters that get more than a minute or two of screen time. The character which the movie does focus on – Jordan Belfort – has no redeeming features. This would be fine if we at least got to understand him, but I never felt like I got more than a shallow insight into the inner workings of his mind.



The Wolf of Wall Street is not Scorsese’s best work – it’s not even Leonardo DiCaprio’s best work. It attempts to be a psychological profile of a man’s affair with greed, but never manages to get further than mediocre softporn. The movie’s only redeeming features are Matthew McConaughey (because Matthew McConaughey) and the fact that it does at least manage to evoke pity for the main character in one or two scenes. It takes itself far too seriously for something that adds nothing new to the discussion.

Divider

Polish Films and Scottish Universities

April 23, 2016 books, miscellaneous, movies 16

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

What ISN’T new would be the better question. The last few weeks have been kind of crazy, but mostly in a good way. I’m writing this from the sofa of my temporary flat in Berlin, where I’m staying for six days to participate in a film journalism seminar. It was all very last minute and stressful, because I was also visiting a friend in Dublin last weekend, but now that I’ve had some sleep and rest again I’m very glad I did it. I love movies and writing, and we’re learning a lot about Polish films, because the seminar is organized by the Polish Institute, so overall I’m having a great time.


Read more »

Divider

Why You Should Read The Lunar Chronicles

April 12, 2016 books, reviews 14

I know everyone and their mum already read the Lunar Chronicles, but just in case you haven’t, I have compiled a handy list to convince you to drop everything and start reading them immediately. I resisted for a long time, because I was worried they’re overhyped, but when I finally picked them up, I enjoyed them a lot. Since I already reviewed them on Goodreads, I’m doing this instead. Veeery mild spoilers ahead.


Read more »

Divider

The 100: My Thoughts So Far (I AM NOT OKAY)

April 7, 2016 discussion, tv shows 4

TV Show Thursdays on Reviews and Cake

Welcome to TV Show Thursdays, where I discuss TV Shows, review episodes and give my commentary on anything TV Show related!


If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, or you’re following me on twitter, it’s no secret that I LOVE The 100. The plan was to wait until the entirety of Season 3 is out there so I can binge watch, but then I found myself with time and the need for a good show today, so obviously that plan failed. I decided that I am done yelling at people on twitter (for now), so here are my thoughts so far.

SPOILERS UP UNTIL SEASON 3 EPISODE 9. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
Read more »

Divider

Impromptu Reading Marathon and Abs

March 12, 2016 books, miscellaneous 16

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

I know, I know. It seems like we’re back on the whenever-I-feel-like-it blogging schedule of last year, but I’M ALIVE AND WELL HELLO LET ME HUG YOU. I haven’t had tons of energy for blogging lately, but I’ve been reading loads. I’m very active on Goodreads at the moment, so if you feel like running commentary find me there! In actual news, I’ve been applying to universities all over the UK for my MA. I have no clue how realistic it is that I’ll get in (my grades are fine, but these universities want A LOT of stuff for the fact that you have to be filthy rich to attend). During the process of doing this, I have learned to appreciate German universities, simply because they’re free. I mean seriously 9k for a year PLUS stupidly expensive living expenses? I don’t compute.

The Shiny

It seems I bought a lot of books the last few weeks, but I have also been reading a lot, so there. Of course I could have been reading the books I already have, but where’s the fun in that? Pictures all courtesy of Goodreads, because I bought all of these for my Kindle.


Read more »

Divider

A Gathering of Shadows

February 29, 2016 books, reviews 4

a gathering of shadows book cover on reviews and cake

Four months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Rhy was wounded and the Dane twins fell, and the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift, and into Black London.

In many ways, things have almost returned to normal, though Rhy is more sober, and Kell is now plagued by his guilt. Restless, and having given up smuggling, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks like she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games—an extravagant international competition of magic, meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries—a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

But while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life, and those who were thought to be forever gone have returned. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night reappears in the morning, and so it seems Black London has risen again—meaning that another London must fall.

from Goodreads

I tried out at least five different beginnings to this review, because I can’t find any words to convey how much I loved this book. Since I really liked the first book in the series, I preordered this one and started reading shortly after it was delivered to my Kindle around midnight on its release date. Victoria Schwab usually writes great beginnings, but I think this might have been my favorite one yet. It has a very Pirates of the Caribbean flair to it and there’s trickery and action and cleverness and basically yes, please. However, as I read on I was all prepared to give the book a mediocre rating. I didn’t love Lila, because it felt too much like she was only written to be badass if you think that killing people and acting inconsiderate is badass. I liked returning to this world, but the story dragged a tiny little bit. But… then I got sucked in again and I freaking loved every single thing about it. Let me tell you why.
Read more »

Divider

Do You Use Your Blog For Job Applications?

February 24, 2016 discussion 12

Talk To Me

is a no-nonsense discussion feature on this blog. No-nonsense means I’m too lazy to make it look pretty. It’s exactly what the title suggests: I’m going to pose a question or tell you my own opinion about something, and I want to know what you think about it! Obviously feel free to write up your own post on the topic and link it in the comments.


Topic

Everyone who runs a blog, no matter how big or small, knows that a lot of work, time and discipline goes into it. Depending on your blogging style and your niche, you’ll have to at least think about the following points to varying degrees:

  • content production: how often do you post what, how polished does it need to be and when do you have the time to actually write it?
  • social media presence and marketing: do I need to get pinterest even though I’m more comfortable on twitter? Does it make sense to create a facebook page for my blog? Will people actually follow me? Whether we play the social media game or not you win or you die; there is no middle ground, most bloggers have thought about this at one point or another and a lot of bloggers spend huge chunks of time devoted to their social media presence.
  • platform: should I go self-hosted or use an existing platform? If I go self-hosted, how much do I have to pay? Should I learn some code myself, or should I dish out for a customized theme? Do I need to know Photoshop to make a blog banner? Can I just use a free theme?
  • networking: how much time do I have to reply to comments and comment back? Can I approach bloggers who have a bigger following than I do without making a fool of myself, or will they think I’m a total dork?

These are just a few of the points that can face you when you run a blog. Of course it is always your decision how much time you put into your blog, but creating and maintaining a blog consistently takes a lot of discipline and creativity. It can, however contain personal information, informal writing, or controversial opinions, which is why I’m interested: do you put your blog on your CV if you have one, and if you don’t, would you put it on your CV if you had a blog?
Read more »

Divider

The Hateful Eight

February 22, 2016 movies, reviews 1

It’s that time of the year again: movie aficionados all over the world scramble to watch the movies nominated for this year’s Academy Awards. I have to admit I’ve only seen a couple of the contenders so far, but The Hateful Eight was one of them.



I did manage to catch an English showing of The Hateful Eight, because there was no way I was going to watch a crappy dubbed German version of it, but I didn’t get to see the 70mm version. If you haven’t been following movie news, Tarantino, in an effort to put all other movie nerds to shame, filmed The Hateful Eight in Ultra Panavision 70, a format that hasn’t been used for decades, which basically means that you get a wider and much more detailed image. Since most cinemas don’t have the equipment to show the movie in this format, there was (is?) a roadshow featuring the movie in its original format and in a slightly longer version. Since I couldn’t go, I can’t say whether it’s worth it, but I have to admit the whole procedure of dressing up and making a proper night out of it appeals to me. Plus, I imagine you get to be pretentious and wax poetic on the vivid colors and crisp image of the movie in Ultra Panavision 70, as opposed to the much inferior digital version, while gesticulating with your wine glass. Ah, one can dream.
Read more »

Divider

How to Finish Your Project

February 19, 2016 fun, miscellaneous 16

No idea how to finish that project you should have been working on for the last three months? As a chronic procrastinator, I have some handy tips for you. Here’s my ultimate guide for finishing your project. Guaranteed to work!


  1. Remember that new show everyone keeps telling you about? You should start watching it.
  2. Your parents always told you, but it took you this long to realize that a clean house really is a clean mind. This is the perfect time to become a cleaning monster and vacuum, scrub and dust every surface you can find. Daily.
  3. YouTube has more than one billion users. So many people can’t be wrong – it’s time to check back and catch up on your subscriptions, your suggested videos and that one cat video you watched three years ago and then couldn’t find anymore. Look for it now, what’s more fun than a quest?
  4. Made it to the library to work on your paper? Phenomenal, take a break. You deserve it. Put on The Great British Bake Off, get yourself an actual cake from the cafeteria and kick back to appreciate the fine art that is turning boring ingredients into something magnificent. If one of your friends stops by, lecture them on the importance of breaks. People say they do their best work when they’re under a bit of stress, but they’re clearly wrong. Stress is unhealthy. So is your cake, but at least it’s delicious, and it’s more for your soul than your body anyway.
  5. You know where dust collects? On lamps. Get yourself a chair, dismantle that lamp and make sure there’s not a fleck of grey left anywhere.
  6. It’s time to be social. Reconnect with those old acquaintances from school you haven’t seen in ten years. Look for pen pals. Hell, why not be bold and sign up for those dancing classes three times a week you thought you didn’t have enough time or skill for. You have to make the time.
  7. What’s the opposite of procrastination? That’s right, productivity. The law of logic dictates that being productive means you’re not procrastinating, so if there’s project you’ve been waiting to realize, you should do it now. No time like the present. Who knows, it might even become profitable, and who could tell you you were wasting your time then?
  8. Now that you’ve spent so much time on YouTube, you should start thinking about making your own videos. You might have to think of a name and a concept and yes, you will have to learn how to film and edit from scratch, but it’ll be worth it. Just make sure to be consistent in your upload schedule. Twice a day should suffice for now.
  9. Just shove a pizza into the oven? Not you. You suddenly decide to start living healthy and make the pizza from scratch. And by from scratch I mean you not only make your own dough, you grow your own freaking wheat. Tomato sauce? Well, better wait for the right season to harvest the sweetest tomatoes, because a subpar tomato sauce is not a tomato sauce you are going to subject yourself to. Clean away those old pizza cartons while you’re at it.
  10. You know what you need? A pet. Yes, you’ll have to walk your dog several times a day, but you’ll be more energized for it. And think of all the cuddly love you’ll receive. That should be sure to boost your spirits and give you the strength needed to finish your project.
  11. In fact, why not add another addition to your family? A baby is a project much more important and fulfilling than the one you’re working on.
  12. Unless you want to focus on your career right now and don’t think a baby fits in. That’s fine, but you should really put in some extra hours at work to get ahead. Not getting paid as much as you were hoping? Apply for a second job. But remember: Make the money, don’t let the money make you.
  13. And haven’t you always wanted to experience a different culture? You’re young and free and if you’re not you’ll want to feel that way again. Be daring and move to a different country. It’s important to expand your horizon.

And if all else fails, start writing lists and post them to your blog. There, I’m sure that was helpful to everyone involved.

Divider

You’re Not Even Prepared

February 7, 2016 miscellaneous 16

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

Goooood day, blogglings. I have been informed that I said I’d be back in February and it is now one week into the month without a post from me. All I have to say to that is well… yes, BUT I never said I’d be back on the first of the month, so it’s really not my fault if you don’t read the fine print.There was no fine print. Also, when am I ever early to something, give me a break. One week is still fashionably late. Now two weeks, that would have been rude. To make up for the fact that you had to live without me, I decided the best way to celebrate my reappearance would be with some baking pictures. Never let it be said that I don’t put the cake in Reviews and Cake. Sometimes. But first things first.



I’d ask what you’ve all been up to, but obviously you can’t answer me now, so there’d be an awkward pause, kind of like when you send someone a recorded message on whatsapp and ask them a question before you realize they can’t reply and then you have to keep speaking as if you weren’t just expecting an answer. Just me? Ah, well. I’ll tell you what I’ve been up to in the last month then. Brace yourselves; it’s an exciting list. Many adventures were had.
Read more »

Divider

See you in February!

January 13, 2016 psa 12

Yo blogglings,

As I have to pretend to be an adult for the next 2,3 weeks, I will take a brief hiatus until the end of January, so I can finish my university assignments. I’ll be around on twitter, goodreads, and probably in your comment sections. Check you later, gator.

Divider

Sweetgirl: Atmospheric Writing and Clever Characters

January 10, 2016 books, reviews 2



I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

A long history with drug addiction means this isn’t the first time Percy’s mother has disappeared, but that doesn’t make Percy worry any less. When she receives a tip on where to find Carletta, Percy braces the oncoming snowstorm to get her mother home. She doesn’t find Carletta, but she stumbles upon Jenna, a neglected baby, and has to brace the biting cold, her almost-step dad’s sarcasm and the gun-wielding drug dealers on their heels to get Jenna to safety.

Sweetgirl isn’t what I’d usually look out for in a bookstore, but the description caught my interest, so I requested it on Netgalley, and I wasn’t disappointed. After the bad luck I had with ARCs at first, I’m kind of amazed that this is my second five star ARC in a row. Mulhauser’s writing is clean and atmospheric and will weave a web of icy roads, gritty characters and a spark of hope around you. It’s rare that an author’s writing really immerses you into the setting of the book, but this is one of those cases. I felt like I was trudging through the snow storm with Percy and Portis, but – more impressively – I felt with the “villains” of the story. From Percy’s perspective, I had to fear them right along with her, but once I got into Shelton’s head, I understood what made him tick – at least a little.
Read more »

Divider

We Have a Radio Show!

January 9, 2016 books, fun, miscellaneous 12

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

I did my first live radio show yesterday! Remember when I did an internship with a local radio station this summer? I have a show there now. It’s on every four weeks and I’m doing it with a friend of mine. If anyone happens to speak German (or wants to listen to some good music) you can listen to the show we did today for a couple more days. There were some slight technical errors the first couple of minutes it was totally not my fault, but after that it went alright for our first show!

After the show I went to dinner with a friend I hadn’t seen in six months, and then I came home and amused myself by singing My Heart Will Go On really loudly (as one does). A few minutes later I realized my roommate was home after all and heard the whole thing. Naturally, I pretended to be on the phone, though I’m not sure why badly singing My Heart Will Go On to someone else would make it any less weird. Other than these exciting going ons, I have a lot of university stuff on my plate and will go and work on that now. Or, well, maybe tomorrow. You know the drill.
Read more »

Divider

Attachments As In E-Mail Attachments

January 8, 2016 books, miscellaneous, reviews 2

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

Hey, at least I got the title pun without someone pointing it out to me this time. I love wordplay, but I suck at it. Let’s not talk about the Cinder->Cinderella debacle of 2015 (yes, I know 2015 was literally a week ago, but it sounded good). Anyways, ever since Fangirl, I’ve been reading my way through Rainbow Rowell’s books and when I heard Attachments was an epistolary novel it rocketed to the top of the list (by which I mean there were two of her books I hadn’t read yet and I read this one first).

Attachments is the kind of book where I can understand if someone gives it a low rating …I just disagree. Literally nothing happens for about 90% of the book and the ending was a bit out there for me, BUT it’s also this really sweet story about cyberstalking and befriending people much older than you. Wait no, let me rephrase that. What I mean to say is, the book is as slice-of-life as all of Rainbow Rowell’s other books, so either you like that kind of writing or you don’t.
Read more »

Divider

Top Priority Writing Projects

January 7, 2016 miscellaneous, writing 9



I’m doing this again, because I thought it wouldn’t hurt to set some writing related goals for this year! Also, I like replying to questions I can actually answer as opposed to Why do we exist? or Is this term paper you’re writing the same term paper you told me about last summer? Fine, I can answer that last question BUT YOU WON’T LIKE THE ANSWER, MOTHER. Ahem. Let us commence.

What were your writing achievements last year?

I almost won NaNoWriMo! It was SO CLOSE. I mean what’s 30.000 words in the grand scheme of things, right? I also wrote some term papers and stuff.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

The book I started last November! I have 20.000 words, and I’m totally not considering starting something else NOPE NOT ME. And my bachelor thesis
Read more »

Divider

Happy New Books!

January 3, 2016 books, miscellaneous 12

Cake Conversations Banner Kopie - Kopie

What’s New?

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope you all had a smashing start of the year. I spent New Year’s Eve super low-key watching movies with a friend and watching the fireworks from my window, because I had to study the next day and because I’m a rebel and go out on Sundays rather than when everyone goes out because clearly that would be boring I tell myself. I was very productive yesterday, which I’m hoping will continue throughout the year (I know what you’re thinking, BUT YOU CAN’T PREDICT THE FUTURE). I planned to do the same today, but one of my friends returned from a semester abroad, so I didn’t get much done. Wish me luck for the next few days!

The Shiny

I got some books yesterday as a reward for my productivity, but they haven’t arrived yet. I wonder what I should get myself if I ever finish the term paper I’m working on if I get books after one day. Feel free to leave suggestions below. I also got this book, because it was a super cheap Kindle deal and I’ve been wanting to read something by Melissa Keil for ages.


Read more »

Divider

Shit I’m Going to Do in 2016

December 30, 2015 miscellaneous 16

Last year around this time I wrote a post called The End Is Near: 2014 Accomplishments and 2015 Goals, in which I set some goals for 2015. Now is the time to see whether I actually accomplished any of them. Let’s take a look!

The Moment of Truth

In 2015 I wanted to…

…do well in university

You know what? I’m gonna give myself a check on that one. I procrastinated so much I could write my dissertation on it and I would have done better if I had studied harder or studied at all, BUT overall my grades were between good and really good, so I’d say that’s a mission accomplished. Now I only need to do well on the things that actually count towards my bachelor grade.

…want to work or intern during the lecture free times

I have two major lecture free times a year, in which I’m supposed to write term papers, but don’t have to be at university for seminars. I have to admit that I didn’t do much during the first one, but I did an internship at my local radio station during the second one and also have been working at an office 1-2 times a week since May, so I’ll give myself a check for that one too.
Read more »

Divider

What a Year! Moving On.

December 29, 2015 books, miscellaneous 14



I thought I had plenty of time to do this and then I realized submissions close in a day and it’s almost New Year’s Eve. I’ll be doing a more personal wrap-up post in a bit, but this is my bookish year. I made some questions up, deleted some and changed others, because it’s the early hours of the morning and there are tv shows I have to watch.

Reading Stats

Number Of Books I Completed: About 35 + some fanfiction.

Number of Re-Reads: None yet, but I’m listening to Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone as an audiobook every night before bed, so probably 1 before the year ends

Genre You Read The Most From:

Read more »

Divider

Speed Typing Test Review (How Fast Can YOU Type?)

December 29, 2015 discussion, fun, miscellaneous, writing 14

Help. There are so many more productive things I could be doing. But Kristen asked me whether I’ve ever done any typing tests in the comments of my speed reading test review, so you know what I’m doing for the next hour. I’m much more confident about my speed typing abilities than my speed reading abilities, but we’ll see how it goes. Please no one link me to anything that looks like a test, survey or buzzfeed quiz in the comments after this though, because I will have to forward my university expulsion letter and a bucket full of my tears to you.

typingtest.com

If you know me, you’ll know I did my research and totally didn’t pick out the very first test that came up when I Googled “typing test”. This test prides itself on being able to tell your “true” typing speed in 60 seconds (I wonder what a false typing speed would be) and is preset to give you a text from Aesop’s fables, but you can choose different texts to copy. I chose Space Cowboys, because that sounded a lot more fun.

I got 64 words/minute with 1 error, so 63 words per minute. I wasn’t sure if quotation marks and such counted as errors and the fact that the test always colored the next word I had to type blue distracted me a little even though it was supposed to be helpful (my brain is weird and confused but loveable, like Kirk from Gilmore Girls). The test says between 60 and 80 words per minute is fast, but the next level is “pro”, so you know I had to try it again. I left it on Aesop’s fables this time and got 77 words/minute with 2 errors, so still fast, but 5 missing to be a pro. I, um, got competitive with myself then. I chose Baseball Rules and typed 85 words with one mistyped word, so an adjusted speed of 84 words per minute, which officially makes me a PRO. YES, MY LIFE GOALS ARE COMPLETED.

You know I had to use this gif.



I also switched to German once and got a science-y text on musk deer (WTF) and typed 68 words/minute with 51 mistyped words and an adjusted speed of 0 words per minute. Um. I don’t quite know what happened there.
Read more »

Divider